Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

UMW's Kirsten Littlefield Named CAC Player of the Year as All-CAC Women's Lax Team Announced

UMW's Kirsten Littlefield Named CAC Player of the Year as All-CAC Women's Lax Team Announced

FREDERICKSBURG, Va. - Mary Washington's Kirsten Littlefield and Salisbury's Emma Skoglund and Jim Nestor received major awards to highlight the 2018 All-CAC Women's Lacrosse Team. Salisbury, Mary Washington and York led the way as each landed six players on the all-conference squad. 

Littlefield, a senior defender for UMW, was named CAC Player of the Year after leading the Eagles to a third-place regular season finish and a trip to the CAC Championship game. She becomes the fourth UMW player to receive Player of the Year honors, joining Jenna Petrucelli (2014), Catherine Kennedy (2011) and Melissa Block (2003) as top award winners for the Eagles. A three-time All-CAC first team selection, Littlefield ranks third in the conference in caused turnovers (28), draw controls (75), and ground balls (40), and has helped the UMW defense limit its opponents to just 8.44 goals against per game in 2018. 

Skoglund, a freshman attacker for Salisbury, was selected as the CAC Rookie of the Year. She is the third Sea Gull to collect top rookie honors, along with teammate Gianna Falcone (2015) and Lynsey Bateman (2003). Skoglund has tallied 27 goals and three assists this spring to go along with 15 draw controls, eight ground balls and five caused turnovers. 

Nestor collected the CAC Coach of the Year award for the 13th time, the most among any coach in conference history. Nestor helped lead the Sea Gulls to the CAC regular season and tournament titles, as they secured their 16th straight conference crown. He was also named CAC Coach of the Year in 2003-10 and 2013-16. 

Along with Skoglund and Nestor's major individual awards, Salisbury secured four spots on the All-CAC first team and two on the second team. Senior goalkeeper Gianna Falcone completed a four-year sweep of all-conference honors, collecting first-team recognition for the third time in her career. She was also named Rookie of the Year back in 2015. Senior midfielder Allie Hynson and senior attacker Krissy Murphy were repeat all-star selections, while junior defender Martha Hutzell earned All-CAC honors for the first time in her career. 

Sea Gulls landing on the second team included senior attacker Dana King and sophomore defender Kendall Bannan. King was a first-team pick in 2017, while Bannon is a first-time all-star. 

York also received four all-stars on the first team and two on the second team. Junior defender Nicole Clauter, the 2017 CAC Player of the Year, claimed her third-straight spot on the All-CAC squad to headline the Spartans' honorees. Sophomore attacker Meghan Fox, the 2017 Rookie of the Year, and sophomore midfielder Regan Cook repeated as first-teamers for the Spartans, while sophomore midfielder Devin Hursey was also named to the first team for the first all-star nod of her career. 

All-CAC second team recipients for York were senior midfielder Melissa Meehling and senior goalkeeper Charlotte Wright, both repeat all-stars. Meehling earned her third-straight spot on the All-CAC second team, while Wright also received second team laurels in 2017. 

Mary Washington earned three spots on both the first and second teams. Along with Littlefield, who earned first-team honors for the third year in a row, junior attacker Mackenzie Maguire and senior defender Peyton Murray also represented the Eagles on the first team. Maguire, the 2016 CAC Rookie of the Year, secured her third straight first-team award, while Murray made her way onto the All-CAC team for the first time in her career. 

A trio of Eagles also earned spots on the second team - senior attacker Holly Hudson, junior defender Paige Childers and sophomore midfielder Paige Haskins. Hudson was the lone repeat all-star among the group, having also earned second-team honors in 2016. 

Christopher Newport had four All-CAC selections, with junior attacker Sarah Culver and junior midfielder Julia Golden leading the way as first-teamers. Culver is now a three-time all-star after earning second-team honors each of the last two seasons, while Golden made the All-CAC team for the first time. Senior attacker Carly Wilson and sophomore defender Mackenzie Regen nabbed second-team accolades for the Captains. 

St. Mary's and Marymount each landed three players on the All-CAC team. St. Mary's junior midfielder Caitlin Katchmar was named to the first team, while junior attacker Ali Collie and senior defender Maribeth Anderson received second team honors for the Seahawks. 

For Marymount, senior attacker Abby Wescott and senior defender Liah Agouras each earned second-team honors for the third straight season, while junior midfielder Bridgette Stacomalso picked up second team accolades. 

2018 CAC Player of the Year: Kirsten Littlefield, Mary Washington
2018 CAC Rookie of the Year: Emma Skoglund, Salisbury
2018 CAC Coach of the Year: Jim Nestor, Salisbury (13th time)

2018 All-CAC Women's Lacrosse First Team

Sarah Culver Jr. Att Christopher Newport Westhampton Beach, N.Y. / Westhampton Beach 2nd in '17, 2nd in '16
Meghan Fox So. Att York Arlington, Va. / Washington-Lee 1st & ROY in '17
Mackenzie Maguire   Jr. Att Mary Washington       Sparta, N.J. / Sparta 1st in '17, 1st & ROY in '16
Krissy Murphy Sr. Att Salisbury Finksburg, Md. / Westminster 2nd in '17
Regan Cook So.  Mid York Lincoln University, Pa. / Avon Grove 1st in '17
Julia Golden Jr. Mid Christopher Newport Chantilly, Va. / Chantilly  
Caitlin Katchmar Jr. Mid St. Mary's Phoenix, Md. / Hereford  
Devin Hursey So. Mid York Finksburg, Md. / Westminster  
Allie Hynson Sr. Mid Salisbury Catonsville, Md. / Mount de Sales Academy 1st in '17
Nicole Clauter Jr. Def York Bel Air, Md. / John Carroll 1st & POY in '17, 2nd in '16
Martha Hutzell Jr. Def Salisbury Ellicott City, Md. / Centennial  
Kirsten Littlefield Sr. Def Mary Washington Millstone Twp., N.J. / Allentown 1st in '17, 1st in '16
Peyton Murray Sr. Def Mary Washington Westminster, Md. / Winters Mill  
Gianna Falcone Sr. GK Salisbury Florham Park, N.J. / Academy of Saint Elizabeth 2nd in '17, 1st in '16, 1st & ROY in '15


2018 All-CAC Women's Lacrosse Second Team

Ali Collie Jr. Att St. Mary's Glen Arm, Md. / Dulaney  
Dana King Sr. Att Salisbury Lusby, Md. / Patuxent 1st in '17
Holly Hudson Sr. Att Mary Washington Lynchburg, Va. / Virginia Episcopal 2nd in '16
Abby Wescott Sr. Att Marymount Haymarket, Va./Battlefield 2nd in '17, 2nd in '16
Carly Wilson Sr. Att Christopher Newport Odenton, Md. / Arundel  
Paige Haskins So. Mid Mary Washington Chapel Hill, N.C. / Chapel Hill  
Melissa Meehling Sr. Mid York Monkton, Md. / Hereford 2nd in '17, 2nd in '16
Bridgette Stacom Jr. Mid Marymount New Hyde Park, N.Y. / Herricks  
Liah Agouras Sr. Def Marymount Brookfield, Conn./Brookfield 2nd in '17, 2nd in '16
Maribeth Anderson Sr. Def St. Mary's Phoenix, Md. / Dulaney  
Kendall Bannan So. Def Salisbury Annapolis, Md. / St. Mary's  
Paige Childers Jr. Def Mary Washington Chapel Hill, N.C. / Chapel Hill  
Mackenzie Regen So. Def Christopher Newport McLean, Va. / Langley  
Charlotte Wright Sr.  GK York Massapequa Park, N.Y. / Massapequa 2nd in '17