Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

UMW's Mastropaolo Named VaSID College Division Women's Lax Player of the Year

UMW's Mastropaolo Named VaSID College Division Women's Lax Player of the Year

University of Mary Washington senior defender Katie Mastropaolo was named the Virginia State Sports Information Directors' Association's College Division Women's lacrosse Player of the Year on Thursday. Mastropaolo was joined on the all-state team by teammates Jenna Pterucelli, Megan Gersbeck, and Keller Torrey. 

Mastropaolo, a senior defender, recently earned first team All-American honors by both the Intercollegiate Women's Lacrosse Coaches Association and Mastropaolo, who was also named first team all-conference and all-region this spring, ranked among national leaders with 71 ground balls and 56 caused turnovers.

Francis, a midfielder, earned Old Dominion Athletic Conference Rookie of the Year this spring. She had a highly successful freshman season, leading the team in goals (43), points (49), draw controls (56) and caused turnovers (26).

Raveia led the Lady Captains to a 18-3 record, breaking the program record for victories. The squad also picked up its first-ever NCAA Tournament victory with a 23-6 triumph over Sewanee in the first round of the playoffs.

CNU had three first-teamers, and Mary Washington, Lynchburg and Roanoke College each boasted two.

2013 VaSID All-State College Division Women’s Lacrosse Team

VaSID Player of the Year - Katie Mastropaolo, Sr., Mary Washington
VaSID Coach of the Year – Carolyn Raveia, Christopher Newport
VaSID Rookie of the Year – Katherine Francis, Fr., Lynchburg

1st Team
GK – Hanna Slough, Fr., Christopher Newport
D – Katie Mastropaolo, Sr., Mary Washington
D – Leanne Stone, Jr., Washington and Lee
D – Brianna LaMarca, Jr., Lynchburg
M – Darragh Evarts, So., Roanoke
M – Becca Geist, Sr., Christopher Newport
M – Ashton Marshall, Jr., Christopher Newport
M – Jenna Petrucelli, Jr., Mary Washington
A – Kendall Adkin, Sr., Lynchburg
A – Allison Bonanno, Jr., Roanoke
A – Brooke Hewartson, Sr., Ferrum

2nd Team
GK – Kiki Niebuhr, Jr., Marymount
D – Amari Agee, So., Virginia Wesleyan
D – Stephanie Green, Sr., Christopher Newport
D – Emily Johnson, Jr., Christopher Newport
M – Caila Cummings, So., Ferrum
M – Megan Gersbeck, Jr., Mary Washington
M – Katherine Francis, Fr., Lynchburg
M – Samantha Sisson, Jr., Shenandoah
A – Sydney Hewartson, So., Ferrum
A – Elena Obregon, Fr., Christopher Newport
A – Keller Torrey, Sr., Mary Washington