Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

UMW Rowing Competes at Head of the Schuylkill Regatta

The Mary Washington Eagles crew raced in their second regatta of the season on Saturday, 28 October 2017 on the Schuylkill River, Philadelphia, PA.  The Head of the Schuylkill is a head race that is roughly 4200 meters long, with the placing of the crews based on elapsed time over the race course.  The Head of the Schuylkill is one of the largest East Coast fall regattas, with 272 rowing organizations entering events.  There were more than 2000 racing entries, including entries from Canada, Israel, Australia, Switzerland, Spain, Lithuania, and Great Britain.

In the men's champ 4+ race, the UMW entry, coxed by Delaney Resweber with stroke Kyle Moran, Sean Ingraham, Ty Michels, and Dan Pan placed 23rd out of 36 entries.  The seven fastest entries were all from the University of Pennsylvania or St. Joseph's University.  Among Division III crews entered, only the Coast Guard Academy's two entries were faster than UMW's time of 16:13.  Other Division III entries that the Eagles bested included the College of New Jersey, St. Mary's, Manhattan College, the University of Scranton, New York University, Susquehanna, and second entries from the College of New Jersey and the University of Scranton.

In the women's champ 4+ race, UMW entered one crew, coxed by Emily Siegfried with stroke Corinne Kuge, Kiele Marston, Krista Beucler, and Lauren Chartier.  The UMW crew placed 37th out of 41 teams with a time of 20:20.    Slower teams included the second Bryant University entry, as well as Hofstra, Iona College, and a Passaic River Boat Club entry.  The race was won by the University of Delaware with an exceptional time of 16:11.

In the college freshman/novice men's 8+ race, the UMW crew coxed by Delaney Resweber, with stroke Angus Long, John Wray, Quinton Veach, Max Radel, Chris Kostrzewa, Andrew Radel, Michael Heredia, and Kieran O'Hare placed 14th out of 25 teams.  The two fastest crews were from St. Joseph's University and Drexel University, finishing in 13:51 and 13:52.  Among the NCAA Division III schools entered, the fastest was the Coast Guard Academy, finishing in 15:17, followed by the UMW Eagles in 16:19, Haverford College in 17:54, Franklin & Marshall in 18:13, and Manhattan College in 20:02.  The Eagles also managed to best several Division I teams including the third UVa entry and first entries from Duke, Lafayette College, Villanova, Penn State, Iona College, and Fordham University.