Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Haley Kane Named 2015-16 Capital Athletic Conference Female Senior Scholar Athlete of the Year

Haley Kane Named 2015-16 Capital Athletic Conference Female Senior Scholar Athlete of the Year

YORK, Pa. – University of Mary Washington senior field hockey midfielder Haley Kane (Fredericksburg, Va./Massaponax) was selected by the Capital Athletic Conference athletic directors as the 2015-16 Female Senior Scholar-Athlete of the Year.

Kane was a psychology major who graduated with a 4.00 cumulative grade point average. In 2015-16, she repeated as the National Field Hockey Coaches Association's (NFHCA) NCAA Division III Scholar Athlete of the Year in the second year of the award's existence, given to the All-American with the highest cumulative GPA.

She also was awarded as the 2015 and 2016 UMW Scholar-Athlete of the Year and was a four-year member of the UMW Honor Roll, a four-year member of the NFHCA National Academic Team, and a four-time recipient of the NFHCA National Scholar of Distinction award.

Kane concluded her career last fall as a third team NFHCA All-American, gaining All-America honors for the second straight year. She collected all-region honors for the fourth straight time after finishing third in school history in assists. She finished her career with 36 goals and 28 assists, good for 100 career points. She was a four-time CAC all-star, earning second team accolades as a freshman in 2012 before receiving first team honors three consecutive years.

Kane is the fifth UMW student-athlete to win the Female Scholar-Athlete of the Year award since its inception in 1992, and first since 2001. Other UMW winners include Susan Myers (1992, tennis), Candice Malone (1994, field hockey), Angie Saulsbury (1998, field hockey), and Bridget Geiman (2001, lacrosse). She is the ninth field hockey player to earn the honor.

To be eligible for the award, a student-athlete must be a senior with a minimum 3.50 cumulative grade point average, demonstrate athletic success and be a major contributor to his program.

Capital Athletic Conference Female Scholar-Athletes of the Year 

1992    Susan Myers-UMW (tennis)    2005    Kim Rementer-SAL (softball)
1993    Renie Amoss-GOU (field hockey/basketball)    2006    Randi Jones-MU (basketball)
1994    Candice Malone-UMW (field hockey)    2007    Tamijo Foronda-GAL (volleyball)          
1995    Michele Mohlman-GOU (FH/basketball/Lax)    2008    Sue Ackermann-SAL (lacrosse)
1996    Michele Mohlman-GOU (FH/basketball/Lax)    2009    Emily Smithson-SMC (field hockey)
1997    Jessica Turgon-MU (basketball)    2010    Karisa Carroll-SMC (soccer/lacrosse)
1998    Angie Saulsbury-UMW (field hockey)    2011    Sarah Stephens-FSU (volleyball/tennis)
1999    Erica Pearson-SMC (volleyball/basketball)    2012    Anna Macedonia-MU (swimming)
2000    Gina Dean-SAL (field hockey)    2013    Tristin Burris-WES (FH, XC, T&F, Soft, Lax)
2001    Bridget Geiman-UMW (lacrosse)    2014    Katelyn Fischer-MU (basketball)
2002    Kathy Holmes-SMC (soccer/lacrosse)    2015    Rachel Johnson-SAL (softball)
2003    Amy Campion-SAL (basketball)    2016    Haley Kane-UMW (field hockey)
2004    Annetta Benjamin-MU (basketball)