Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Women's Volleyball

Dunow, Powers Named to VaSID All-State College Division Volleyball Team

Dunow, Powers Named to VaSID All-State College Division Volleyball Team

DANVILLE, Va. — Averett University senior Hannah Shields was named the Player of the Year for the second consecutive season to headline the 2017 Virginia Sports Information Directors (VaSID) College Division All-State Women's Volleyball Teams, which were announced Tuesday. Washington and Lee University first-year Courtney Berry was selected as the VaSID Rookie of the Year, while Averett's Danny Miller was named the Coach of the Year.


Seven different programs from across the Commonwealth were represented in the annual awards presented to the best women's volleyball players in the state at the Division II, III or NAIA level. Christopher Newport University and Randolph-Macon College led the group with three total selections, while five of the seven schools had at least two players selected.


Shields, an outside hitter from Keeling, Virginia, was named to the American Volleyball Coaches Association (AVCA) All-America Third Team and voted the USA South Conference Player of the Year for the third consecutive season. Shields earned AVCA All-American accolades, All-Region First Team honors and USA South First Team recognition in each of her four seasons at Averett. Shields set numerous records, including the USA South's career kills record. During the 2017 season, Shields averaged 4.29 kills and 3.65 digs per set while helping Averett go 32-4 overall and 16-0 in conference play during the regular season while winning the USA South's East Division crown. Additionally, Shields was named to the USA South East Division First Team honors, the USA South All-Tournament Team and USA South Player of the Week twice this season. In the classroom, she was named to the Academic All-District Team presented by the College Sports Information Directors of America (CoSIDA).


Berry, a middle blocker from Charlottesville, Virginia, earned AVCA Honorable Mention All-Region recognition after being named the Old Dominion Athletic Conference's Rookie of the Year and a First Team All-Conference selection. Berry led the ODAC this season in total blocks (135), blocks per set (1.18) and hitting percentage (.337) while finishing the year with 196 kills on 416 attempts. Nationally, Berry ranked fourth and seventh, respectively, in blocks and blocks per set, and she set a new program blocks record for first-year players.


Miller, in his 23rd season at Averett, led the Cougars to a 32-4 overall record and a 16-0 mark in conference play. The nine-time USA South Coach of the Year guided his team to the conference's East Division championship and tournament final. The 32 overall wins by Averett was a program record, and Miller's teams have won 41 consecutive conference regular season matches.


Shields also earned a spot on the 2017 VaSID All-State First Team. She was joined by teammate Brianna Williams, along with Randolph-Macon College's Miranda Hall and Samantha Sallade, Christopher Newport's Katelyn Newsome, Southern Virginia University's Hannah Allred and Washington and Lee's Meg Guignon.


Berry headlined the VaSID All-State Second Team, which was also comprised of Christopher Newport's Josie Lucernoni and Katie Piper, University of Mary Washington's Peyton Dunow and Savannah Powers, Marymount University's Caroline Hanson and Randolph-Macon's Erin Quinn.


VaSID names 27 all-state teams in 15 sports each year, as well as an Academic All-State squad and an all-sports champion in both the University and College Divisions. Membership to VaSID is open to all media relations professionals working at a university or conference in the Commonwealth of Virginia.




Virginia Sports Information Directors 2017 College Division All-State Women's Volleyball Teams:


Player of the Year                                          

Hannah Shields, Averett University


Coach of the Year                                           

Danny Miller, Averett University


Rookie of the Year                                         

Courtney Berry, Washington and Lee University



All-State First Team                                       


Hannah Allred, Southern Virginia University

Meg Guignon, Washington and Lee University

Miranda Hall, Randolph-Macon College

Katelyn Newsome, Christopher Newport University

Hannah Shields, Averett University

Brianna Williams, Averett University


Libero/Defensive Specialist                                      

Samantha Sallade, Randolph-Macon College



All-State Second Team                                 


Courtney Berry, Washington and Lee University

Peyton Dunow, University of Mary Washington

Caroline Hanson, Marymount University

Katie Piper, Christopher Newport University

Savannah Powers, University of Mary Washington

Erin Quinn, Randolph-Macon College


Libero/Defensive Specialist                                      

Josie Lucernoni, Christopher Newport University