Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Women's Volleyball

UMW's Wickersham Repeats as All-CAC Volleyball Selection

UMW's Wickersham Repeats as All-CAC Volleyball Selection

University of Mary Washington junior Kaitlynn Wickersham was a repeat selection on the 2012 All-Capital Athletic Conference Volleyball team, released today. A second team selection, she also took second team honors a year ago.

YORK, Pa. - Salisbury senior setter Carley Todd (Greenlawn, N.Y./Harborfields) was named the 2012 CAC Volleyball Player of the Year and was one of five members of the conference champion Sea Gulls to be named to the 2012 All-CAC squad.

Todd, a three-time All-CAC honoree, including two first-team nods during her career, is the second SU player, and the fifth player in CAC history, to win the Player of the Year award twice. Former Salisbury standout Stacey Krebs (2007-08) was the last two-time CAC Player of the Year.

Todd and CAC Coach of the Year Margie Knight led the Gulls to their second-straight (and fifth in the last six years) conference championship. It is the fourth time Knight has been honored by her peers.

Sea Gulls joining Todd and Knight on this year's All-CAC squad are senior Chelsea Glowacki (Poolesville, Md./Poolesville) and freshman outside hitter Ashlyn Tapley (Odenton, Md./Arundel) on the first team while senior Kelly Vieira (Eldersburg, Md./Liberty) and junior Julie Poston (Laurel, Md./Reservoir) were second-team choices. Glowacki is a four-time All-CAC pick by the conference coaches, including first-team recognition for three-straight seasons, while Vieira is a second-team all-star for the second-straight season.

Marymount and St. Mary's, which finished in a three-way tie with Mary Washington for second place in the regular-season standings, combined for seven All-CAC nods. The Saints, who played in the 2012 CAC title match, earned four spots on the all-conference team while the Seahawks gained three spots, including a first-team position for 2012 Rookie of the Year Mandy Goodspeed (Columbia, Md./Atholton).

Marymount senior middle hitter Jenn Forbes (Philadelphia, Pa./Central) was a first-team All-CAC choice. Classmates Michelle McCormick (Charlotte Hall, Md./La Plata), Melissa Warren (Merrillville, Ind./Merrillville) and sophomore Erin Allison (Gardnerville, Nev./Douglas) all picked up second-team all-conference awards. All four are first-time All-CAC honorees.

Goodspeed, the third Seahawk to win the top rookie award, joined junior Michelle Klima (Ellicott City, Md./Centennia) on the first-team all-conference squad while SMC senior setter Dani Thorne (Alexandria, Va./T.C. Williams) was a second-team choice by the conference coaches. All three Seahawks are first-time All-CAC selections. Previous SMC players to win the Rookie of the Year Award were Rebecca Tursell (2005) and Katie Ewing (2006).

York and Mary Washington each placed one player on the 2012 All-CAC volleyball team. Spartan senior Ashley Rineman (Hanover, Pa./Delone Catholic) picked up her third-straight conference post-season award, including her second first-team honor, while UMW senior hitter Kaitlynn Wickersham (Midlothian, Va./Manchester) was picked as a second-team choice for the second-straight year.

- 30 -

2012 All-CAC Volleyball Team

First Team Yr. Pos. Team Hometown/High School Previous All-CAC Honors
Chelsea Glowacki Sr. MH Salisbury Poolesville, Md./Poolesville 1st in '11, 1st in '10, 2nd in '09
Mandy Goodspeed Fr. MB St. Mary's Columbia, Md./Atholton
Jenn Forbes Sr. MH Marymount Philadelphia, Pa./Central
Michelle Klima Jr. MB St. Mary's Ellicott City, Md./Centennial
Ashley Rineman Sr. L York Hanover, Pa./Delone Catholic 1st in '11, 2nd in '10
Ashlyn Tapley Fr. OH Salisbury Odenton, Md./Arundel
Carley Todd Sr. S/RS Salisbury Greenlawn, N.Y./Harborfields 1st & POY in '11, 2nd in '10

Second Team Yr. Pos. Team Hometown/High School Previous All-CAC Honors
Erin Allison So. OH Marymount Gardnerville, Nev./Douglas
Michelle McCormick Sr. L Marymount Charlotte Hall, Md./La Plata
Julie Poston Jr. OH Salisbury Laurel, Md./Reservoir
Dani Thorne Sr. S St. Mary's Alexandria, Va./T.C. Williams
Kelly Vieira Sr. MH Salisbury Eldersburg, Md./Liberty 2nd in '11
Melissa Warren Sr. S Marymount Merrillville, Ind./Merrillville
Kaitlynn Wickersham Sr. OH Mary Washington Midlothian, Va./Manchester 2nd in '11

2012 CAC Athlete of the Year: Carley Todd, Salisbury (second-straight year)
2012 CAC Rookie of the Year: Mandy Goodspeed, St. Mary's
2012 CAC Coach of the Year: Margie Knight, Salisbury (4th time, also in 1998, 2004 and 2008)