#14 UMW Women's Lacrosse Tops Frostburg, 19-7, in Wednesday CAC Tilt

#14 UMW Women's Lacrosse Tops Frostburg, 19-7, in Wednesday CAC Tilt

The 14th ranked University of Mary Washington women's lacrosse team defeated Frostburg State University, 19-7, on Wednesday afternoon in Capital Athletic Conference action at the Battleground. The Eagles improve to 12-4 overall, and run their win streak to five straight.

UMW scored just outside of the first minute of play, as Sabrina Elliott scored on a free position shot at 28:57, and the lead grew to 2-0 on an Allison Davis goal at 27:06. After a Frostburg goal, UMW reeled off seven straight goals, started by a pair of Mackenzie Maguire goals at 18:08 and 17:29. Kate Smucker would score on a Maguire assist 17 seconds later, and Kelsey Vincent scored on a Davis pass 16 seconds after that.

Emily Mott scored one minute later, at 15:55, to push the lead to 7-1, and Paige Haskins scored on a Julia Albert assist with 14:17 remaining. Holly Hudson scored with 13:42 left, giving the Eagles a 9-1 lead.

Frostburg scored the next two goals to trim the margin to six, but Nikki Lind and Mott would score 12 seconds apart with 8:23 to go. After another Frostburg tally, Elliott closed the half with a goal with 19 seconds left to give the Eagles a 12-4 advantage at halftime.

The Eagles started the second half by scoring the first five goals, kickstarted by Smucker at 27:26, and followed by Mott (25:54), Davis (23:22), Hudson (20:50), and Kristen Kunaniec (19:26).

Frostburg scored a pair to move the score to 17-6, but UMW found scores from Albert at 9:33 and Haskins at 6:54. The Bobcats scored final goal of the day with 4:43 to play.

The Eagles were led by Mott's three goals, while six players each had two in a balanced attack. UMW led in shots, 39-15, and draw controls, 20-8. UMW led in ground balls, 26-17. Hanna Ashby had four saves, Jacquelyn Albanese had two and Kelsey Welsh saw one shot in sharing time in the UMW goal.

UMW will close the regular season on Saturday when they visit Marymount University at 1:00 p.m.