UMW's Jenna Petrucelli Named CAC Player of the Year as Five Eagles Named to All-CAC Women's Lax Team

UMW's Jenna Petrucelli Named CAC Player of the Year as Five Eagles Named to All-CAC Women's Lax Team

YORK, Pa. - Mary Washington senior Jenna Petrucelli and Christopher Newport freshman Meaghan Galvin lead one of the most balanced All-CAC Women’s Lacrosse teams in recent years.  Regular-season champion Salisbury earned six all-conference nods while York and Mary Washington had five and a total of eight teams were represented on the list of honorees.

        In her second year as a first-team All-CAC player, Petrucelli is the third UMW player to win the Women’s Lacrosse Player of the Year award.  She joins Melissa Block (2003) and Catherine Kennedy (2011) as Eagles to be honored by the CAC coaches.

        Junior midfielder Emily Atkinson joined Petrucelli on the All-CAC first team while senior attack Katie Williams, junior attack Corinne Wiederkehr and freshman defender Emily Mott were Eagles to earn second-team recognition. 

        Galvin, one of three Captains on the All-CAC first team, was picked as the 2014 Rookie of the Year.  She is the first player to win the award for CNU, which is in its first year as a member of the conference.  Joining Galvin on the All-CAC first team were senior attack Ashton Marshall and senior defender Emily Johnson.

        Salisbury’s Jim Nestor picked up his second-consecutive Coach of the Year award from his peers - the 10th of his career, and had a conference-best six members of the regular-season champion Sea Gulls named to the 2014 All-CAC team.

        The Sea Gulls led the CAC with four first-team all-stars, including junior attack Shelby Nemecek, junior midfielder Bethany Baer, junior defender Laura Maskell and senior goalkeeper Ashton Wheatley.  Second-team All-CAC nods were awarded to senior attack Shannon Carta and senior defender Meghan Toomey.  Wheatley and Toomey were first-team all-stars in each of the past two seasons while Baer and Maskell were first-team all-stars in 2013.

        York, which will play at Salisbury Saturday in its third-straight CAC title match appearance, matched Mary Washington with three first-team All-CAC berths and five total awards.  Senior attack Erica Mulford registered her third-straight All-CAC nod, and second-straight first-team award, to lead the Spartans.

        Joining Mulford on the All-CAC first team for YCP were junior midfielder Sarah Castle and sophomore defender Megan Strauch.  Attack Jocelyn Hudson and goalie Ashley Smith, both seniors, were voted to the second-team all-conference squad.  Smith is making her second-straight All-CAC second-team appearance.

        St. Mary’s landed four players on the 2014 All-CAC team, including sophomore midfielder Shelby Newman and sophomore defender Brynn Miller on the first team along with junior attack Christy Bishop and sophomore midfielder Tori Poffenberger on the second team.  Newman was a first-team all-star and Rookie of the Year in 2013.

        Frostburg State picked up a pair of second-team all-star awards, including two-time All-CAC junior midfielder Malory Brunett and freshman defender Emani Byrd.

        Marymount and Wesley each added one player to complete the All-CAC second team.  Junior midfielder Molly Maher earned her third-straight all-conference nod for the Saints while senior defender Jorden Lutz gained her second-straight second-team all-star award for the Wolverines.

- 30 -

2014 All-CAC Women’s Lacrosse Team

First Team      Yr.     Pos.    Team    Hometown/High School    Previous Honors
Ashton Marshall Sr.     Att     Christopher Newport     Roundhill, Va./Foxcroft School
Erica Mulford   Sr.     Att     York    Crownsville, Md./Seton Keough   1st in ‘13, 2nd in ‘12
Shelby Nemecek  Jr.     Att     Salisbury       Marriottsville, Md./Liberty
Jenna Petrucelli        Sr.     Att     Mary Washington Cranberry, N.J./Peddie School   1st in ‘12
Emily Atkinson  Jr.     Mid     Mary Washington Towson, Md./Towson
Bethany Baer    Jr.     Mid     Salisbury       Westminster, Md./Westminster    1st in ‘13
Sarah Castle    Jr.     Mid     York    Annapolis, Md./Annapolis Christian
Meaghan Galvin  Fr.     Mid     Christopher Newport     Arlington, Va./Yorktown
Shelby Newman   So.     Mid     St. Mary’s      Hampstead, Md./Manchester Valley        1st & ROY in ‘13
Emily Johnson   Sr.     Def     Christopher Newport     Gainsville, Va./Brentsville Dist.
Laura Maskell   Jr.     Def     Salisbury       Ellicott City, Md./Marriots Ridge       1st in ‘13
Brynn Miller    So.     Def     St. Mary’s      Frederick, Md./Urbana
Megan Strauch   So.     Def     York    Baltimore, Md./Perry Hall
Ashton Wheatley Sr.     GK      Salisbury       Cambridge, Md./Salisbury School 1st in ‘13, 1st in ‘12

Second Team     Yr.     Pos.    Team    Hometown/High School    Previous Honors
Christy Bishop  Jr.     Att     St. Mary’s      Glenwood, Md./Glenelg
Shannon Carta   Sr.     Att     Salisbury       Annapolis, Md./South River
Jocelyn Hudson  Sr.     Att     York    York, Pa./Central York
Corinne Wiederkehr      Jr.     Att     Mary Washington Wading River, N.Y./Shoreham-W.R.
Katie Williams  Sr.     Att     Mary Washington Charlottesville, Va./Albemarle
Malory Brunett  Jr.     Mid     Frostburg State Clarksville, Md./River Hill     2nd in ‘12
Molly Maher     Jr.     Mid     Marymount       Zionsville, Ind./Zionsville     1st in ‘13, 2nd in ‘12
Tori Poffenberger       So.     Mid     St. Mary’s      Sharpsburg, Md./Boonsboro
Emani Byrd      Fr.     Def     Frostburg State Baltimore, Md./Seton Keough
Jorden Lutz     Sr.     Def     Wesley  Collingswood, N.J./Collingswood 2nd in ‘13
Emily Mott      Fr.     Def     Mary Washington Miller Place, N.Y./Miller Place
Meghan Toomey   Sr.     Def     Salisbury       Annapolis, Md./St. Mary’s       1st in ‘13, 1st in ‘12
Ashley Smith    Sr.     GK      York    Cinaminson, N.J./Cinaminson     2nd in ‘13

2014 CAC Player of the Year:     Jenna Petrucelli, Mary Washington
2014 CAC Rookie of the Year:     Meaghan Galvin, Christopher Newport 
2014 CAC Coach of the Year:      Jim Nestor, Salisbury (10th time, also in 2003-10 and 2013)