Brianne Comden Named to VaSID College Division Women's Basketball First Team

Brianne Comden Named to VaSID College Division Women's Basketball First Team

WINCHESTER, Va. – Student-athletes from 10 different institutions across the commonwealth comprise the 2017 VaSID College Division All-State Women's Basketball team in selections announced Thursday by the organization.

Zarkia Mattox, from Ferrum College, leads this group by being named as the VaSID Player of the Year with Randolph-Macon's Kelly Williams selected as Rookie of the Year and Christopher Newport's Bill Broderick as Coach of the Year.
Mattox, from Rocky Mount, was previously named the USA South Conference Player of the Year after being named as the league's Player of the Week six times during the season and first team All-USA South. The junior also was a first team All-South Region honoree.

Williams, a Garysburg, North Carolina native, was named first team All-ODAC, ODAC Rookie of the Year, South Region Rookie of the Year and ODAC Player of the Week four times as she posted 23 doubles-doubles on the season.

Broderick led Christopher Newport to the Final Four this season and a No. 4 final ranking after posting a 29-3 record along with Capital Athletic Conference regular season and tournament championships.

Mattox and Williams are joined on the VaSID All-State first team by Bridgewater's Jessica Lam, Brianne Comden from Mary Washington and Christopher Newport's Sam Porter.

The second team consists of Samm Chandler (Averett), Emily Perszyk (Washington & Lee), Jayla Harris (Virginia Wesleyan), Charmaine Hairston (Lynchburg) and Lady Walker from Virginia Union.

Lam and Comden were named as Player of the Year in the ODAC and CAC, respectively, while Porter was a first team All-CAC and second team All-South Region honoree.

Walker paces the second team All-State by being named CIAA Player of the Year as well as CIAA Defensive Player of the Year. Chandler, Perszyk, Harris and Hairston all were named first team All-league with Chandler earning hers in the USA South and Perszyk, Harris and Hairston in the ODAC.

Major Award Winners
Player of the Year: Zarkia Mattox
Rookie of the Year: Kelly Williams, Randolph-Macon
Coach of the Year: Bill Broderick, Christopher Newport

First Team
Jessica Lam, Bridgewater
Zarkia Mattox, Ferrum
Kelly Williams. Randolph-Macon
Brianne Comden. Mary Washington
Sam Porter. Christopher Newport

Second Team
Samm Chandler, Averett
Emily Perszyk, Washington and Lee
Jayla Harris, Virginia Wesleyan
Charmaine Hairston, Lynchburg
Lady Walker, Virginia Union