McRae, Wimmer Named to All-CAC Women's Basketball Team; Dye Takes Rookie of the Year

McRae, Wimmer Named to All-CAC Women's Basketball Team; Dye Takes Rookie of the Year
University of Mary Washington sophomores Jenna McRae (Springfield, Va., Annandale) and Katie Wimmer (Vienna, Va., James Madison) were named to the 2010 All-Capital Athletic Conference teams on Tuesday, as the only underclassmen on the squads. Freshman Carol Dye (Springfield, Va., Lake Braddock) was named as the league's rookie of the year.

Junior post player Easter Faafiti (Pittsburg, Calif./Pittsburg) led Gallaudet to its best season in a decade, and the coaches in the Capital Athletic Conference recognized her accomplishment by picking her as the 2010 CAC Women’s Basketball Player of the Year. 

It’s been a decade since the Bison, then led by three-time CAC Player of the Year Rhonda Jo Miller, won as many games as Faafiti led the team to this season - seven CAC wins, sixth place in the regular-season standings and 14 overall victories. Miller and Faafiti are the only Gallaudet players to win the Women’s Basketball Player of the Year title in the 20-year history of the CAC. 

Marymount University, led by Bill Finney, who captured his CAC-best fifth Coach of the Year award, placed a conference-best three players on the 10-member 2010 All-CAC squad. Finney guided the Saints to their 11th championship in 20 CAC seasons. Marymount will make its 16th appearance in the NCAA Tournament this weekend. 

Guards Amanda Billy (Syracuse, N.Y./Christian Bros. Academy) and Terell White (Ashburn, Va./Stone Bridge) earned first-team nods while center Kathleen Brown (Bethesda, Md./Walt Whitman) was a second-team honoree. White was a second-team All-CAC honoree in 2008 while Brown earned first-team all-conference recognition in 2008 and 2009. 

Guards April Sparkman (Walkersville, Md./Walkersville) of York and Jenna McRae (Springfield, Va./Annandale) of Mary Washington completed the 2010 All-CAC first-team starting five. Sparkman is the only player on this year’s first team returning from last year’s top squad. 

McRae’s classmate, sophomore guard Katie Wimmer (Vienna, Va./James Madison), earned a second-team All-CAC nod. Wimmer was the 2009 CAC Women’s Basketball Rookie of the Year. 

Joining Brown and Wimmer on the All-CAC second team are St. Mary’s senior guard Steph Saint-Aubin (Bowie, Md./Elizabeth Seton) along with Wesley’s standout junior duo of guard Cory Boyd (Point Pleasant, N.J./Point Pleasant) and forward Angie Owens (Seaford, Del./Seaford). 

Saint-Aubin, who did not play for the Seahawks last year, was the CAC Rookie of the Year in 2007 and a second-team all-star in 2008. Owens was a first-team All-CAC player in 2009 while Boyd was a second-team selection last year. 

The third Mary Washington player recognized in the voting of the coaches this season was freshman center Carol Dye (Springfield, Va./Lake Braddock), who was picked as the CAC Rookie of the Year. She is the third Eagle to win that award, joining Wimmer and 2004 honoree Debbie Bruen in that exclusive club.

2009-10 All-CAC Women’s Basketball Team
First Team Yr. Pos. Team Hometown/High School Previous Honors
Amanda Billy Jr. G Marymount Syracuse, N.Y./Christian Bros. Acad.
Easter Faafiti Jr. C Gallaudet Pittsburg, Calif./Pittsburg
Jenna McRae So. G Mary Washington Springfield, Va./Annandale
April Sparkman Jr. G York Walkersville, Md./Walkersville 1st in ‘09
Terell White Sr. G Marymount Ashburn, Va./Stone Bridge 2nd in ‘08

Second Team
Cory Boyd Jr. G Wesley Point Pleasant, N.J./Point Pleasant 2nd in ‘09
Kathleen Brown Sr. F Marymount Bethesda, Md./Walt Whitman 1st in ‘08, 1st in ‘09
Angie Owens Jr. F Wesley Seaford, Del./Seaford 1st in ‘09
Steph Saint-Aubin Sr. G St. Mary’s Bowie, Md./Elizabeth Seton 2nd in ‘08, ROY in ‘07
Katie Wimmer So. G Mary Washington Vienna, Va./James Madison ROY in ‘09

2010 CAC Player of the Year: Easter Faafiti, Gallaudet
2010 CAC Rookie of the Year: Carol Dye, Mary Washington (Fr., C, Springfield, Va./Lake Braddock)
2010 CAC Coach of the Year: Bill Finney, Marymount (5th time; also in 1993, 1994, 1996, 2003)