Kara Deppe Named to First Team All-CAC Softball Team

Kara Deppe Named to First Team All-CAC Softball Team

YORK, Pa. - Salisbury's LeAnne Collins, Christopher Newport's Liz Andrews, and Frostburg State's Wes Landrum received top honors to highlight the 2017 All-CAC Softball Team. 

Collins claimed her second straight All-CAC nod and became the 16th Salisbury player to earn Player of the Year accolades. The junior was also second team selection in 2016. 

CNU's Andrews is the second Captain to receive Rookie of the Year, joining Krista Lewis (2014) as top newcomers in the conference. Andrews was a key part of leading CNU to its third CAC title in the last four seasons. 

Landrum earned Coach of the Year accolades for the first time after guiding the Bobcats to a second-place regular season finish and a record of 24-15 overall and 11-3 in conference play. 

CAC champion Christopher Newport led the way with 10 players selected to the all-conference squad. In addition to being named Rookie of the Year, Liz Andrews was also named to the first team as a designated player. Outfielder Leah Andrews secured the second All-CAC award of her career on the first team, while pitcher Aubrey Bates, catcher Calah Savage, and shortstop Rachael Payne were also named to the first team for their first career All-CAC honors. 

Five Captains also landed on the second team, including pitcher Tara Heatwole, outfielder Rachael Shiflett, first baseman Jenna Sprinkle, third baseman Brittney Walters, and second baseman Grace Wild. It marks the third-straight second team All-CAC award for Shiflett and the second straight for Heatwole, while Walters was a first team pick in 2015. 

Frostburg State, Salisbury, and York each had four players receive all-conference recognition. 

All four honorees from Frostburg State were selected to the first team. Hannah Tavik was named an all-star for the fourth straight year at the utility position, securing first team honors for the first time. Pitcher Allison Short was a repeat first-teamer, while outfielder Sam Gatton earned All-CAC accolades for the third straight year and first time on the first team. Third baseman Brittney Platt also landed on the first team, marking the first all-conference honors of her career.  

Salisbury placed two on the All-CAC first team and two on the second team. Joining POY Collins on the first team was second baseman Annie Pietanza, while outfielder Caitlin Lake and catcher Emily Allen picked up second team awards. Lake was a first team pick in 2016. 

The quartet of York all-stars was led by first baseman Carleigh Ruleman on the All-CAC first team. Ruleman was a second team selection in 2016. Catcher Haley Hirn, pitcher Ginger Lewis, and shortstop Katie Maloney were named to the second team for the Spartans. Maloney completes her career as a four-time All-CAC second team all-star. 

Wesley earned three spots on the all-star squad, headlined by catcher Nina Marcano on the first team. Marcano picked up the second all-star award of her career after securing second team honors last spring. Outfielder Megan DiRubbio and third baseman Ashley Royer landed on the second team for the Wolverines. 

Mary Washington, which advanced to the CAC Championship round as the No. 5 seed in the conference tournament, was represented on the All-CAC squad by first team honoree pitcher Kara Deppe


2017 CAC Player of the Year: LeAnne Collins, Salisbury
2017 CAC Rookie of the Year: Liz Andrews, Christopher Newport
2017 CAC Coach of the Year: Wes Landrum, Frostburg State 

2017 All-CAC Softball First Team

Aubrey Bates Fr. P Christopher Newport Lorton, Va. / South County
Kara Deppe So. P Mary Washington Henrico, Va. / J.R. Tucker

Allison Short Jr. P Frostburg State Hampstead, Md. / North Carroll 1st in '16
Nina Marcano Sr. C Wesley Townsend, Del. / Middletown
2nd in '16
Calah Savage Fr. C Christopher Newport Suffolk, Va./Nansemond River  
Carleigh Ruleman Sr. 1B York Owings, Md. / Northern
2nd in '16
Annie Pietanza
Jr. 2B Salisbury Silver Spring, Md. / Montgomery Blair
Rachael Payne
Jr. SS Christopher Newport Stafford, Va. / Brooke Point
Brittney Platt
Jr. 3B Frostburg State Leesburg, Va. / Loudoun County
Leah Andrews Jr. OF Christopher Newport Newport News, Va. / Menchville 2nd in '16
LeAnne Collins Jr. OF Salisbury Sparks, Md. / Hereford
2nd in '16
Sam Gatton Jr. OF Frostburg State Owings, Md. / Northern 2nd in '16, 2nd in '15
Liz Andrews Fr. DP Christopher Newport Chesapeake, Va. / Western Branch
Hannah Tavik Sr. Util. Frostburg State Glen Burnie, Md. / Seton Keough 2nd in '16, 2nd in '15, 2nd in '14


2017 All-CAC Softball Second Team

Emily Allen Fr. C Salisbury Ellicott City, Md. / Centennial

Megan DiRubbio
So. OF Wesley Smyrna, Del. / Polytech

Tara Heatwole Sr. P Christopher Newport Williamsburg, Va. / Jamestown 2nd in '16
Haley Hirn Jr. C York Palmyra, Pa. / Annville-Cleona

Caitlin Lake Sr. OF Salisbury Whitehouse Station, N.J. / Hunterdon Central
1st in '16
Ginger Lewis Fr. P York Perryville, Md. / The Tome School

Katie Maloney Sr. SS York Aston, Pa. / Sun Valley
2nd in '16, 2nd in '15, 2nd & Co-ROY in '14
Ashley Royer So. 3B Wesley Lititz, Pa. / Warwick
Rachael Shiflett
Jr. OF Christopher Newport Powhatan, Va. / Powhatan
2nd in '15, 2nd in '14
Jenna Sprinkle Sr. 1B Christopher Newport Troutville, Va. / James River

Brittney Walters
Jr. 3B Christopher Newport Chesapeake, Va. / Grassfield
1st in '15
Grace Wild Fr. 2B Christopher Newport Potomac Falls, Va. / Potomac Falls