UMW Swim Teams Dominate CAC Championships

The University of Mary Washington women's swim team captured its unprecedented 21st straight Capital Athletic Conference championship, while the UMW men won their 11th straight title and 17th overall in the 2011 CAC Championships, which concluded on Sunday night. UMW head coach Abby Brethauer was named the women's coach of the year and freshman Jessica Singer was named the Rookie of the year, while Stephen Clendenin repeated as the CAC men's swimmer of the year.

Sunday winners for the Eagle women included Jessica Singer (Virginia Beach, Va., Ocean Lakes) in the 1650 freestyle with an NCAA B cut  and CAC record time of 17:36.64, Adriana Lesiuk (Bensalem, Pa., Nazareth ) in the 100 yard freestyle at 53.01, Megan DeSmit (Bridgewater, Va. , Turner Ashby) in the 200 breaststroke with an NCAA B cut time of 2:24.57, and the 400 yard freestyle relay consisting of Sarah Crockett (Toano, Va., Lafayette), Jessica Singer, Chrissy Boyer (Fairfield, Va., Rock Bridge), and Adriana Lesiuk at 3:35.03.

The Eagle men saw wins from Brad Dunn (Williamsburg, Va., Bruton) in the 1650 freestyle at 16:35.31, Stephen Clendenin (Ashburn, Va., Home Schooled) in the 200 yard backstroke with an NCAA B cut and CAC record at 1:50.37, Austin Clark (Springfield, Va., Texas Permian Basin) in the 100 freestyle with a CAC record time of 46.31, Billy Norfolk (Fairfax, Va., Chantilly) in the 200 yard butterfly with an NCAA B cut time of 1:52.10, and the 400 freestyle relay consisting of Austin Clark, Andrew Cole (Falls Church, Va., McLean), Brian O'Donnell (Scotch Plains, N.J., Union Catholic), and Nick Eckhoff (Williamsburg, Va., Jamestown) at 3:09.29.