UMW Sweeps CAC Swimming Championships

UMW Sweeps CAC Swimming Championships
The University of Mary Washington women's swimming team won the Capital Athletic Conference Championship for the 20th time in the 20-year history of the conference, and the men won the league crown for the 16th time in 20 years, on Sunday night at St. Mary's College. The women gained a total of 926.5 points, nearly 300 points more than second place St. Mary's, while the Eagle men captured 984 points, a full 320 points more than second place York.

UMW coach Matt Sellman walked out of the championship, hosted by St. Mary's College (Md.), with the most hardware. In addition to two team trophies, Sellman was picked by his peers as both the men's and women's Coach of the Year. It's his second-straight men's Coach of the Year Award and first for the Women's Coach of the Year.

He is the third CAC swim coach to win both Coach of the Year awards in the same season. UMW's Paul Richards did it twice (1991 and 1992) while UMW's Matt Kinney did it three times (1996-98).

A pair of UMW juniors also swept the Swimmer of the Year awards.

Sarah Crockett, who won the 500 freestyle Friday, 200 freestyle Saturday and 1,650 freestyle Sunday, was named the Women's Swimmer of the Year. Crockett previously won the 2008 CAC Women's Rookie of the Year Award.

In the men's competition, Stephen Clendenin took the trophy stand for the third-straight year. After winning the 2008 CAC Men's Rookie of the Year, Clendenin has now been selected as the Men's Swimmer of the Year each of the past two years.

Another Eagle standout, freshman Nick Eckhoff was named the Men's Rookie of the Year. He is the eighth UMW swimmer to win the Men's Rookie of the Year award since its inception in 1997.

In the 1650 freestyle, Crockett set an NCAA provisional qualifying time at 17:38.99 in finishing in first place, with teammate Missy Kobiela placing second. The Eagle men finished 1-2-3 in the mile, with Brad Dunn taking first at 16:43.76, followed by Jack McHugh and Andrew Garofolo.

Junior Stephen Clendenin set a new CAC Championship and conference record in the 200 yard backstroke, with an NCAA B cut of 1:52.39. Freshman Nick Eckhoff finished second in the event with an NCAA privisional time of 1:53.63.

Junior Adriana Lesiuk tied the CAC Championship record with a time of 52.23 in the 100 freestyle, which was also an NCAA provisional cut. The Eagles finished 1-2-3-4 in the 100 freestyle, led by Brian O'Donnell, who won with a time of 47.41.

Sophomore Megan DeSmith broke her own CAC Championship record in winning the 200 breaststroke at 2:23.74. She gained an NCAA provisional cut, as did freshman Cameron Figuers, who finished second at 2:24.25. 

Clendenin and senior Jason McCormack both gained NCAA provisional times in finishing 1-2 in the 200 butterfly. Clendenin hit the wall at 1:53.37, and McCormack raced to a time of 1:54.24. UMW finished in first through fifth in the event.

The women's 400 medley relay finished first with an NCAA provisional time of 3:31.42. Members of the relay included Adriana Lesiuk, Cameron Figuers, Nina Sawyer, and Sarah Crockett. The relay also set a new CAC and championship record.

The men's 400 yard medley relay capped the affair by taking first with a time of 3:08.20.