Mensah-Abrampah Named VaSID Men's Soccer Rookie of the Year

Mensah-Abrampah Named VaSID Men's Soccer Rookie of the Year
Virginia Wesleyan senior forward Brandon Massie (Chesapeake, Va.) has been named the 2009 Virginia College Division Men’s Soccer Player of the Year in voting conducted by the Virginia Sports Information Directors Association (VaSID). Also, Lynchburg’s Chris Yeager was selected the Coach of the Year and University of Mary Washington midfielder Duke Mensah-Abrampah (Gainesville, Va.) was named the Rookie of the Year.
Massie was named the state Player of the Year for the third consecutive season and was selected to the allstate first team for the fourth straight time. Massie, the 2009 ODAC Player of the Year, finished his career as the conference’s all-time leader in goals (57), assists (30) and points (144). He was named to the All-ODAC first team in each of his four seasons.
Yeager led the Lynchburg College Hornets to the ODAC title with a 17-2-3 overall record in 2009. The Hornets won their first ever NCAA tournament contest this past season. The 2009 Hornets set new Lynchburg records for most wins in a season and most goals in a season with 57.

Mensah-Abrampah was a 2009 first-team pick on the All-Capital Athletic Conference team. He finished the season with 15 points on seven goals and one assist. He also had four game-winning goals in 2009.
In addition to Massie, repeat selections on the all-state first team included Christopher Newport sophomore forward Winston Mattheisen (Norfolk, Va.), Lynchburg senior midfielder Josh Reed (Newark, Del.) and Roanoke College junior defender Michael Stark (Newport News, Va.).
Rounding out the first team were Hampden-Sydney forward Bryan Wharton (Glen Allen, Va.), Lynchburg midfielder Pat Brown (Williamsburg, Va.), Christopher Newport midfielder Nao Masuda (Radford, Va., and Roanoke midfielder Chris Collins (Vinton, Va.). Also, named to the first team on defense were Lynchburg’s Hunter Smith (Goode, Va.) and Eastern Mennonite’s Jared Troyer (Harrisonburg, Va.). The first team goalkeeper was Eastern Mennonite’s Dillon Brunk (Dayton, Va.)
Lynchburg finished with the most selections on the 2009 VaSID men’s soccer team with five, including three on the first team. Roanoke and Christopher Newport each had four total selections.

All-VaSID Men’s Soccer College Division First Team
Brandon Massie Forward Sr. Virginia Wesleyan
Winston Mattheisen Forward So. Christopher Newport
Bryan Wharton Forward So. Hampden-Sydney
Pat Brown Midfield Sr. Lynchburg
Chris Collins Midfield Sr. Roanoke
Nao Masuda Midfield So. Christopher Newport
Josh Reed Midfield Sr. Lynchburg
Dillon Brunk Goalkeeper So. Eastern Mennonite
Hunter Smith Defender Jr. Lynchburg
Michael Stark Defender Jr. Roanoke
Jared Troyer Defender Sr. Eastern Mennonite

All-VaSID Men’s Soccer College Division Second Team
Donald Hart III Forward Jr. Lynchburg
Mitchell Leap Forward So. Eastern Mennonite
Clay Price Forward Sr. Virginia Wesleyan
Nick DeProspero Midfield Fr. Hampden-Sydney
Taylor Johnston Midfield Sr. Roanoke
Duke Mensah-Abrampah Midfield Fr. Mary Washington
Francisco Soebueda Midfield Sr. Southern Virginia
Justin Wolfe Goalkeeper So. Christopher Newport
Kevin Greenberg Defender Sr. Christopher Newport
Cameron Lee Defender So. Roanoke
Zach Ward Defender Jr. Lynchburg

Player of the Year
– Brandon Massie, Virginia Wesleyan
Rookie of the Year
– Duke Mensah-Abrampah, Mary Washington
Coach of the Year
– Chris Yeager, Lynchburg