Dingman, Gatens, Ayer, Tata Named to 2017 All-CAC Men's Lacrosse Team

Dingman, Gatens, Ayer, Tata Named to 2017 All-CAC Men's Lacrosse Team

YORK, Pa. - Salisbury's Nathan Blondino, Southern Virginia's Shawn Lamb, and York's Brandon Childs picked up major awards to lead the 2017 All-CAC Men's Lacrosse Team. Salisbury and York dominated the squad with a combined 17 of the 28 selections. 

Blondino, a senior, was named Player of the Year after helping the Sea Gulls their sixth straight CAC regular season title and third perfect conference season in a row. Blondino becomes the third straight and 15th overall Sea Gull to capture Player of the Year honors. He earned All-CAC first team accolades for the second straight season to lead a conference-best contigent of nine Salisbury players on the all-conference squad. 

Lamb was named Rookie of the Year after leading the Knights to their second straight CAC playoff appearance. It marks the second straight season a Southern Virginia player captured top rookie honors, as Zach Danneman secured the award in 2016. Lamb was also named to the All-CAC second team at attack as the lone representative for the Knights on the all-star squad. 

Childs, in his sixth season at the helm of the York program, collected his second career Coach of the Year honor in a vote among his peers. Childs and the Spartans finished second in the CAC regular season and have been consistently ranked among the top teams in the nation all season long. He also won the award in 2014. 

Along with Blondino, six other Sea Gulls earned All-CAC first team recognition. Joining Blondino on first team attack was Carson Kalama, who secured his third straight all-conference nod. A trio of defenders were named to the All-CAC team for the second year in a row - Aaron LeedsWill Nowesnick, and Kyle Tucker. Long pole specialist Andrew Ternahan also collected his second straight all-conference award on the first team, while midfielder Brendan Bromwell claimed All-CAC honors for the first time. 

Landing on the second team for Salisbury were attack Nick Garbarino and short stick specialist Troy Miller, both earning All-CAC accolades for the first time in their careers. 

York placed eight players on the all-star team, with four on the first team and four on the second team. First team honorees for the Spartans included attack Brendan McGrath, midfielder Austin Glab, defender Joey Fiorino, and short stick specialist Conrad Ordakowski. Fiorino was the lone repeat honoree of the group, having earned first team accolades in 2016 and second team in 2015. 

Earning second team recognition for the Spartans were midfielders Cameron Leech and Matt Whitcher, defender J.D. Beck, and goalkeeper Landry Marshall

Christopher Newport and Mary Washington each placed four players on the all-conference team. 

CNU was highlighted by first-team awards from midfielder Randy Foster, face-off specialist Tony Cruz, and goalkeeper Matt Hayden. Foster was also a first team pick in 2016, while Cruz earned second team honors last spring. Attack Will Geise nabbed second team honors for the Captains. 

All four Mary Washington all-stars were first-time honorees and named to the second team - midfielder Owen Dingman, defender Will Gatens, face-off specialist Eli Ayer, and long pole specialist Robert Tata.  

Rounding out the All-CAC team were the Frostburg State duo of midfielder Adam Gross and defender Bradley Jones, both named to the second team. Gross was also a second team selection in 2016. 


2017 CAC Player of the Year: Nathan Blondino, Salisbury
2017 CAC Rookie of the Year: Shawn Lamb, Southern Virginia
2017 CAC Coach of the Year: Brandon Childs, York (2nd time, also in 2014)

2017 All-CAC Men's Lacrosse First Team

Nathan Blondino Sr. Att Salisbury Leonardtown, Md. / St. Mary's Ryken 1st in '16
Carson Kalama Sr. Att Salisbury Bel Air, Md. / Bel Air 2nd in '16, 1st in '15
Brendan McGrath So. Att York Warington, Pa. / Central Bucks South  
Brendan Bromwell Sr. Mid Salisbury Woolford, Md. / Cambridge S. Dorchester  
Randy Foster Sr. Mid Christopher Newport Forest Hill, Md. / North Harford 1st in '16
Austin Glab So. Mid York Forest Hill, Md. / Calvert Hall  
Joey Fiorino Jr. Def York Reisterstown, Md. / McDonogh 1st in '16, 2nd in '15
Aaron Leeds Sr. Def Salisbury Owings Mills, Md. / Boys' Latin 2nd in '16
Will Nowesnick Jr. Def Salisbury Lake Forest, Ill. / Loyola Academy 1st in '16
Kyle Tucker Jr. Def Salisbury  Chester Springs, Pa. / Downingtown East 1st in '16
Tony Cruz Jr. FO Christopher Newport Littleton, Colo. / Heritage 2nd in '16
Conrad Ordakowski Sr. SS York Baltimore, Md. / Mount St. Joseph  
Andrew Ternahan Sr. LP Salisbury Bethany Beach, Del. / Stephen Decatur 1st in '16
Matt Hayden Sr. GK Christopher Newport McLean, Va. / Madison  


2017 All-CAC Men's Lacrosse Second Team

Nick Garbarino Sr. Att Salisbury Binghamton, N.Y. / Binghamton  
Will Geise Sr. Att Christopher Newport Purcellville, Va. / Loudoun Valley  
Shawn Lamb Fr. Att Southern Virginia Buena Vista, Va. / Rockbridge County  
Owen Dingman Jr. Mid Mary Washington Baltimore, Md. / Calvert Hall  
Adam Gross Jr. Mid Frostburg State North Beach, Md. / Northern 2nd in '16
Cameron Leech So. Mid York Abington, Pa. / Abington  
Matt Whitcher Jr. Mid York Huntington Station, N.Y. / Huntington  
J.D. Beck So. Def York Stevensville, Md. / Kent Island  
Will Gatens Sr. Def Mary Washington Yorktown, Va. / Grafton  
Bradley Jones Jr. Def Frostburg State Centreville, Md. / Queen Anne's  
Eli Ayer So. FO Mary Washington Glenwood, Md. / St. Paul's School  
Troy Miller Jr. SS Salisbury Wading River, N.Y. / Shoreham-Wading River  
Robert Tata So. LP Mary Washington Virginia Beach, Va. / Norfolk Academy  
Landry Marshall Jr. GK York Brookeville, Md. / Glenelg