Glaeser Named VaSID State College Men's Division Coach of the Year; Three Players Named All-State

Glaeser Named VaSID State College Men's Division Coach of the Year; Three Players Named All-State

LYNCHBURG, Va. – Lynchburg College senior Jon Gill was named as the Player of the Year in Tuesday’s release of the Virginia Sports Information Directors Association All-State College Division Men's Lacrosse Team.  Roanoke College’s Kevin Jackson was named the Rookie of the Year and University of Mary Washington’s Kurt Glaeser was named Coach of the Year.

 Gill anchored the Hornet defense as a first team All-American and first team All-ODAC pick. The Avondale, Pa., native corralled 50 ground balls on the year and caused 28 turnovers  en route to being selected to the North/South Senior Game. Gill was a 2013 first-team All-State selection.

 Jackson, a Baltimore, Md., native, was the ODAC Rookie of the Year after leading the Maroons with 37 goals in his first campaign in Salem.  The attackman scored at least one goal in each of the team’s 17 games played this season.

 Glaeser led the Eagles to their first-ever NCAA tournament and program-best record of 14-4. UMW was ranked as high as No. 12 in the nation under Glaeser’s supervision in 2014.

Mary Washington saw All-American senior attacker Luke Dick named to the first team, while senior midfielder Joey Marson and senior goalie Zack Del Grosso were named to the second team.

 Hampden-Sydney College earned three first team honors, with Virginia Wesleyan College, Lynchburg College and Washington & Lee University picking up two spots apiece.

Major Award Winners:

Player of the Year: Jon Gill, Lynchburg College

Coach of the Year: Kurt Glaeser, University of Mary Washington

Rookie of the Year: Kevin Jackson, Roanoke College

All-State First Team

A: Josh Currier, Virginia Wesleyan College

A: Luke Dick, University of Mary Washington

A: Nick Pappas, Virginia Wesleyan College

M: Thomas Armstrong, Hampden-Sydney College

M: Campbell  Armstrong, Lynchburg College

M: Joe Wood, Washington & Lee University

LSM:  New Bowden, Hampden-Sydney College

D: Jon Gill, Lynchburg College

D: Colin Fraser, Washington & Lee University

D: Thomas Passenant, Hampden-Sydney College

GK: Charles Pease, Roanoke College                                      

All-State Second Team

A: Aaron Murphy, Lynchburg College

A: Cam  Lewis, Washington & Lee University

A: Jason Andrews, Randolph-Macon College

A: Austin Stewart, Lynchburg College

M: Jared Mitchell, Washington & Lee University

M: Daniel Batong, Ferrum College

M: Joey Marson, University of Mary Washington

LSM: Teddy Pekalski, Christopher Newport University

D: Michael Packo, Roanoke College

D: Brenden Dwyer, Christopher Newport University

D: Tyler Muckle, Ferrum College

GK: Zack Del Grosso, University of Mary Washington