Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

UMW Baseball Gains ABCA Team Academic Excellence Honors for Second Straight Year

UMW Baseball Gains ABCA Team Academic Excellence Honors for Second Straight Year

The American Baseball Coaches Association is proud to honor nearly 300 member college and high school programs with the 2018 ABCA Team Academic Excellence Award. Teams from every level of college and high school baseball were recognized with this year's award, which highlights programs coached by ABCA members that posted a GPA over 3.0 on a 4.0 scale for the entire 2017-18 academic year.

"We are thrilled to be able to honor all of this year's Team Academic Excellence Award recipients," said ABCA Executive Director Craig Keilitz. "It is a privilege for our association to have the opportunity to highlight so many deserving teams and recognize all of the hard work they put in off the field throughout the year."

A record number of teams were recognized with the 2017-18 ABCA Team Academic Excellence Award. In total, 296 college and high school programs received this year's award, including 95 high school programs and 80 teams from NCAA Div. III. 

Coaches were able to nominate their teams for the ABCA Team Academic Excellence Award following the conclusion of their spring semesters prior to the nomination deadline of July 18. To be honored, teams had to meet the following criteria:

  • Must be a high school or college team.
  • Head coach must be a current ABCA member.
  • Team must have a minimum cumulative GPA of 3.00 on a 4.0 scale during the 2017-18 academic year.

The American Baseball Coaches Association has a long tradition of recognizing the achievements of baseball coaches and student-athletes. The ABCA/Rawlings All-America Teams are the nation's oldest, founded in 1949, and the ABCA's awards program also includes the ABCA/Rawlings All-Region Awards, the ABCA/Diamond Regional & National Coaches of the Year and several other major awards such as the ABCA Hall of Fame and the Dave Keilitz Ethics in Coaching Award. 

NCAA Division III

Albion College (MI)
Albright College (PA)
Anderson University (IN)
Aurora University (IL)
Beloit College (WI)
Berry College (GA)
Cairn University (PA)
Carleton College (MN)
Carroll University (WI)
Case Western Reserve University (OH)
Central College (IA)
Chapman University (CA)
Claremont-Mudd-Scripps (CA)
Dominican University (IL)
Earlham College (IN)
East Texas Baptist University
Edgewood College (WI)
Elizabethtown College (PA)
Elmhurst College (IL)
Elmira College (NY)
Endicott College (MA)
Franklin & Marshall College (PA)
Grinnell College (IA)
Haverford College (PA)
Heidelberg University (OH)
Hood College (MD)
Hope College (MI)
Johns Hopkins University (MD)
Kean University (NJ)
Kenyon College (OH)
Keuka College (NY)
Lewis & Clark College (OR)
Martin Luther College (MN)
Marymount University (VA)
Maryville College (TN)
Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Middlebury College (VT)
Millikin University (IL)
North Central College (IL)
North Park University (IL)
Penn State-Behrend (PA)
Piedmont College (GA)
Principia College (IL)
Rhodes College (TN)
Roger Williams University (RI)
Rose-Hulman Institute of Technology (IN)
Saint Joseph's College (ME)
Salve Regina University (RI)
Schreiner University (TX)
Sewanee: The University of the South (TN)
Stevens Institute of Technology (NJ)
Stevenson University (MD)
Suffolk University (MA)
SUNY Oneonta
SUNY Plattsburgh
Swarthmore College (PA)
Texas Lutheran University
The College of New Jersey
Thiel College (PA)
Trine University (IN)
Tufts University (MA)
U.S. Merchant Marine Academy (NY)
University of Chicago (IL)
University of Dubuque (IA)
University of Mary Hardin-Baylor (TX)
University of Mary Washington (VA)
University of Minnesota Morris
University of Mount Union (OH)
University of Northwestern-St. Paul (MN)
University of Pittsburgh-Bradford (PA)
University of Redlands (CA)
University of Scranton (PA)
Vassar College (NY)
Wartburg College (IA)
Washington & Jefferson College (PA)
Washington University in St. Louis (MO)
Westminster College (MO)
Wheaton College (IL)
Whittier College (CA)
Widener University (PA)