UMW Athletics Celebrates 2016-17 at Annual Athletic Banquet

UMW Athletics Celebrates 2016-17 at Annual Athletic Banquet

The University of Mary Washington athletic department celebrated the 2016-17 year with the annual athletics banquet on Thursday night. Speakers included provost Dr. Nina Mikhalevsky, SAAC president Kris Currie, and Director of Athletics Ken Tyler.

A special presentation was given to the family of Wesley Berry, UMW's #1 fan, who passed away recently. A video looking back at the year was shown as well.

Coaches honored for milestone wins included Abby Brethauer for her 100th win, Deena Applebury for becoming the winningest coach in program history with 309 wins, Dee Conway for her 500th win in softball, and Todd Helbling for his 300th victory.

Capital Athletic Conference award winners from the past year included Mackenzie Maguire (women's lacrosse), Matt Miles (men's tennis), Savannah Powers (Volleyball), Austin Farrar (men's swimming), Julia Geskey (women's swimming), Erin Andrewlevich (women's indoor track and field), Ethan Kelly (men's golf), and Jeff Gibson (men's outdoor track).

CAC Coaches of the Year awarded this year included Todd Helbling, men's tennis; Patrick Catullo, women's tennis; Jason Kilby, Men's Soccer; and Matt Troy, Volleyball.

CAC Players of the Year included Kait Brogan, women's tennis, and Brianne Comden, Women's Basketball.

All-Americans Kait Brogan, Shelby Harris, Kirsten Littlefield, Emma Olson, Christine Loehr, Brianne Comden, Dallas Tarkenton, and Anna Corley were honored as well.

The award winners of the night included Caitlin Jensen (Orthopedic Specialty Clinic Comeback Athlete of the Year), Kirsten Littlefield (Female Scholar-Athlete of the Year), Brian Burns (Male Scholar Athlete of the Year), Emma Olson (Female Athlete of the Year), and Dallas Tarkenton (Male Athlete of the Year).

Orthopedic Specialty Clinic Comeback Athlete of the Year Caitlin Jensen

Female Scholar Athlete of the Year Kirsten Littlefield

Male Scholar Athlete of the Year Brian Burns

Female Athlete of the Year Emma Olson

Male Athlete of the Year Dallas Tarkenton