Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Athletic Hall of Fame


Established in 1996, the University of Mary Washington Athletic Hall of Fame recognizes the top individuals and teams in the history of the athletic program at the school.

The University of Mary Washington Athletic Department is proud to announce the 2018-19 Athletic Hall of Fame Induction class. Inductees include former NCAA record holder and All-American Caitlin Erickson Moore ’08, All-America women’s basketball record breaker Liz Hickey ’08, standout baseball star Joe Kruper ’92, men’s basketball star Mike Lee ’07, and long-time successful coach of women’s soccer and men’s lacrosse Kurt Glaeser.

Erickson graduated as the NCAA Division III season record holder for points per game in a season, and still ranks in the top five all-time in Division III in points and assists in a season. Upon graduation, she held school records for career points (303), season points (143), season assists (81), and points (14) and assists (10) in a game. She led the nation in assists per game and points per game in her senior season en route to All-America honors. She continues to represent UMW in a positive light as the highly successful head coach of the program in which she thrived.

Hickey is the only athlete in any sport in school history to have her number retired, as she graduated as the only three-time All-American in women’s basketball history. She ended her career as the NCAA Division III career leader in blocked shots, with 509, and helped the Eagles to three NCAA Tournament appearances, including the 2007 Division III Final Four. A two-time CAC Player of the Year and two-time regional player of the year, Hickey scored 1,370 points in her career, and was named as the UMW Female Scholar-Athlete of the Year in 2008. She was subsequently named to the Capital Athletic Conference Silver Anniversary Team, honoring the top 25 players in conference history.

Kruper was at the forefront of Mary Washington developing into a national power in the early 1990s, and still ranks as the program’s all-time leader in career triples. He is one of only 10 Mary Washington players to be named as a first team all-conference selection three times, and was a two-time all-region selection. He batted .430 as a freshman en route to conference player of the year honors, and struck out just one time the entire season. He posted a career batting average of .384, with an on-base percentage of .490 and a slugging average of .563. His defensive prowess included a .975 career fielding average, as he committed just 13 errors in four years in 520 chances.

Lee was the top player as Mary Washington emerged as a regional power in the mid 2000s, finishing his career with 1,564 points, the second-most in program history. He remains the school’s record holder in three-point baskets in a game (11), three-pointers in a career (323), as well as three-point attempts in a game, season, and career. He was awarded the CAC Rookie of the Year in 2004, and also gained first team All-CAC honors in a career that saw the Eagles win 68 games, the most in any four-year span in program history to that point.

Glaeser was a longtime successful coach for the women’s soccer and men’s lacrosse programs at Mary Washington, leading both to NCAA Tournament appearances. In soccer, he coached the Eagles to 12 conference titles and 12 NCAA Championship appearances, including the final four in 1992 and the elite eight in 1997 and 1998. His 244 victories rank as among the most in Division III history, and his 71.0 win percentage is among the best ever in Division III. Glaeser also led the men’s lacrosse program to the NCAA Tournament in 2014, ranking as high as 12th in the nation. His combined 428 career wins in 27 years leave a lasting legacy in both programs’ histories.

The induction will take place on Friday, February 8, 2019, at the UMW University Center. 

UMW Athletic Hall of Famers, Nomination Process

If you would like to nominate someone for the UMW Athletic Hall of Fame, please use THIS FORM. Athletes must have finished their careers at least ten years before they may be nominated.

Class of 1996
Ethel Armstrong '63
Ruth Bonner Grosskopf '85
Frank Gilmore '84
Bill Lohr '86
Deb Reid '82
1982 AIAW Champion W. Tennis Team

Class of 1997
Buddy Hawley '87
Pam Heller '87
Jenny Utz '82

Class of 1998
President William Anderson
1988 NCAA Champion W. Tennis Team

Class of 1999
Dr. Edward Hegmann
Glenn Smith '89

Class of 2000
Scott Karr '90
Peggy McKelvey '88
Shane Shackford '90

Class of 2001
Dan Beverly '91
Kim Cosgriff '91
Dave Lausten '91
1991 NCAA Champion W. Tennis Team

Class of 2002
Sean Carpenter '90
Christy Copper '91
Diane DeFalco '91

Class of 2003
Tammy Buhite '93
Matt Mejia '93
Sheri Whited '91

Class of 2004
Don Purcell '93
Leslie Roland '94

Class of 2005
Lesley Krush '93
April Moshos '94
Tony Trepal '93

Class of 2006
Sarah King '96
Jeff Kramer '96
Candice Malone '94

Class of 2007
Jon Gates '97
Jeff Hootselle '97
Tim Selgas '97
Myra Simpson '97

Class of 2008
Eliza Barcus '96
Eliza Huber Scott '96
Chris Rice '98
Jennifer Wilson Buck '94

Class of 2009
Chris Blelloch '97
Charlotte Cockrell '98
Eric Guyton '99
Felicity Smith '98
Chris Wallace '97

Class of 2010
Mariah Butler '00
Craig Gillan '98
Johanna Klein '00
Stephanie Lowe '96
Kim Myers '00 

Class of 2011
Roy Gordon
Yurissa Mitchell '00
Lea Schon '01
Stefanie Teter '96
Jin Wong '97

Class of 2012
Kim Alvis '00
Ellen Anderson '01
Bridget Geiman '01
Erik Kochert '02
Jessica Morris '02

Class of 2013-14
Bobby Bergin '03
Dan Dupras '03
Tom Sheridan
Conor Smith '03
1993 Field Hockey Team

Class of 2014-15
Melissa Block '04
Carol Hawley '84
Tamalyn Reed '93
Megan Reese '98
1997 Men's Soccer Team

Class of 2015-16
Erin Caulfield '01
Peter Diamond '03
Stan Soper
Tasha Thomas '95
1992 Women's Soccer Team

Class of 2016-17
Paul Bristow '06
Mark Matthews '94
Phyllis Quinn '77
Dan Uyar '04
2001 Women's Lacrosse Team

Class of 2017-18
Debbie Bruen Flores '07
Kevin Foeman '06
Dale Parker '07
2007 Women's Basketball Team

Class of 2018-19
Caitlin Erickson Moore '08
Kurt Glaeser
Liz Hickey '08
Joe Kruper '92
Mike Lee '07